Steps to making objects for BF2

Making or wanting help making your own asset? Check in here
Post Reply
Z-trooper
Retired PR Developer
Posts: 4166
Joined: 2007-05-08 14:18

Steps to making objects for BF2

Post by Z-trooper »

The steps for creating new assets are:
  • Creation of geometry: Make the 3D model
  • UV mapping: The process of mapping all of the surfaces of the model onto a single ""picture"" where you can paint each surface.
  • Texturing: Painting these surfaces. Texturing also depends on what kind of game engine you are making it for. BF2 and newer engines have a "minimum" of 3 types of texture maps:
    • Diffuse map: A color map. Simply painting all the surfaces the way you want
    • Specular map: This map controls how shiney/matte the object is, and where. For instance, you probably want it to be shinier where you painted metal on the diffuse map, and darker where you painted wood or paint. A specular map is critical to giving the object material definition. This is usually a greyscale image (but newer engines handle 24bit color spec maps).
    • Normal map: This can be explained as a way to make the object seem more detailed. What it does is using an image as displacement vectors, the red and blue channels control the two side axis displacement where the green channel controls the 'up's and 'down's. A normal map is basically an optical illusion. Its predecessor, the 'bump' map only had the info of the green channel, up/down. This was a greyscale image. Some people still call normal maps for bump maps for some reason.
  • Preperation for export to game engine: So you've made a sniper rifle, but how do the game know how to use it and what parts are movable? Or you've made a building, how does the engine know when it hits it without killing all of the computing power?
    Some terms you may hear used in releation to BF2 (and various other engines):
    • lod: "Level of detail" model. When you are 100m away it is a massive waste of computation power to 'render' a gun or building with all of its details since you can't see them any way. So we make different versions of the same model depending on distance, and in case of weapons (and vehicles); 1st person and 3rd person versions along with scoped in versions.
    • col: "collision" model. To figure out if a vehicle collides with a massive detailed building does not require to know all of the details of the window and door frames and whatever ornament there is. It only needs an outline of the building. The player needs more resolution to the model, for instance holes where there are doors and the inside of the building. Bullets need almost full resolution so it can determine if you hit the wooden frame of the door or the concrete of the roof on the 2nd floor.
  • Export: All of these elements are now grouped and organized into a hierarchy inside the modeling environment, so that the particular game engine may recognize which models are for colision, level of detail or which parts of the guns are movable.
  • Animation: If it is a weapon then all of the movement of the arms, gun ect needs to be defined. Here you manipulate the so called 'bones' inside dynamic geometry (like soldiers) that then moves the model.
  • Coding: Here you tell the model which parts are made of what materials, what reload time, fire rate, mag size, what sound files to use, speed, place where shell casings come out, where the muzzle flash and many many other things.
  • Testing: testing often reveals issues which require you to go back through several of these steps to fix stuff, but it is vital to ensure good quality and game experience.
Steps vary from type of object. Static objects usually have a different way of going by the UV and texture steps, this is the case with BF2.
Dynamic objects like soldiers that need to bend and deform must have a virtual skeleton inside and have each point (vertex) of the model 'weighted' to these bones. This is known as 'skinning'. The word skinning is however sadly used in a confusing was as a lot of people call the texturing process for 'skinning'

Those are the major points of modding/game asset creation. EACH of these points is a subject to master on its own. Even on the DEV team many people never venture out of just one of these fields.

That is the basic overview. I am sorry that you had to search for this and find nothing. It was only weeks since I deleted my tutorial on this subject. I felt it was outdated and I havent gotten around to creating a new one yet.
Image
"Without geometry, life is pointless"
simeon5541
Posts: 507
Joined: 2011-01-11 22:33
Location: Serbia

Re: Steps to making objects for BF2

Post by simeon5541 »

How to code vehicles for SP and bots ?
Psyko
Posts: 4466
Joined: 2008-01-03 13:34

Re: Steps to making objects for BF2

Post by Psyko »

if the col resolution for a building is too low does that mean the bullets wont hit in the right spots? would it affect how infantry were hit, while next to the building?
Z-trooper
Retired PR Developer
Posts: 4166
Joined: 2007-05-08 14:18

Re: Steps to making objects for BF2

Post by Z-trooper »

Psykogundam wrote:if the col resolution for a building is too low does that mean the bullets wont hit in the right spots? would it affect how infantry were hit, while next to the building?
The answer to both your questions is yes.

I don't really get why this post was stickied, it was a random reply to some thread waaay back. Why it has ended up looking like a tutorial sticky is beyond me. Do not follow what is written there religiously...
Image
"Without geometry, life is pointless"
temexter
Posts: 397
Joined: 2009-11-23 15:50

Re: Steps to making objects for BF2

Post by temexter »

Make it sticky, please.
Image
ImageImageImage
Psyko
Posts: 4466
Joined: 2008-01-03 13:34

Re: Steps to making objects for BF2

Post by Psyko »

Z-trooper wrote:The answer to both your questions is yes.

I don't really get why this post was stickied, it was a random reply to some thread waaay back. Why it has ended up looking like a tutorial sticky is beyond me. Do not follow what is written there religiously...
at least you noticed. why don't you elaborate if possible. all the info on making models here is very interesting and valuable.
speedazz
Posts: 108
Joined: 2011-01-13 05:21

Re: Steps to making objects for BF2

Post by speedazz »

Which sofware is best to create 3d models? For game like BF2? Or it includes it's own tools?
CTRifle
Retired PR Developer
Posts: 1056
Joined: 2011-01-03 14:57

Re: Steps to making objects for BF2

Post by CTRifle »

3dsmax or maya with bf2 tools installed with em
Image
Image
Rhino
Retired PR Developer
Posts: 47909
Joined: 2005-12-13 20:00

Re: Steps to making objects for BF2

Post by Rhino »

3DsMax9, v9, not 2009.
Image
ToonS
Posts: 214
Joined: 2009-03-08 01:28

Re: Steps to making objects for BF2

Post by ToonS »

[R-DEV]Rhino wrote:3DsMax9, v9, not 2009.
So, does the latest version not work, or is it a lot of stuffing around to get it to work with BF2?
Psyrus
Retired PR Developer
Posts: 3841
Joined: 2006-06-19 17:10

Re: Steps to making objects for BF2

Post by Psyrus »

ToonS wrote:So, does the latest version not work, or is it a lot of stuffing around to get it to work with BF2?
The export tools (getting it from MAX to BF2) don't work for versions after 3ds max 9.

If you're well versed in scripting for max, maybe you/someone could write an updated version for the latest max :)
Rhino
Retired PR Developer
Posts: 47909
Joined: 2005-12-13 20:00

Re: Steps to making objects for BF2

Post by Rhino »

Ye, the export tools for BF2 do not work with any later version of max than 9, so even if you yourself are not exporting the object, the object still needs to be made with max9 as max9 can not open .max scenes saved with later versions of max, and you need to go though a massive back porting process which screws up the model and requires a serious amount of fixing, with most likley a lot of the bugs being missed, as the export has to work with 3DsMax9....

All in all, your best off just working with Max9 if you plan for your object to be used in BF2, and later versions of max can open .max scenes from older versions so its not a problem in trerms of future proofing. If you don't work with Max9 the likleyhood is your model will never see the light of day since no one is going to do the work to backport it, trust me I've seen it happen many a time.
Psyrus wrote:If you're well versed in scripting for max, maybe you/someone could write an updated version for the latest max :)
That is a massive amount of work. I know only one person who is capable of doing this but the sheer amount of work simply isn't worth it (I've talked it over with him a few times). But if someone has the time and knows max scripts etc, go for it :D
Image
Doc.Pock
Posts: 2899
Joined: 2010-08-23 14:53

Re: Steps to making objects for BF2

Post by Doc.Pock »

Didnt this "one person" already write a lightmapping tool for max 2010? Maybe the entire exporter could be slowly written together by multiple people? Or maybe its possible to just modofy the existing one to work with newer max versions?
Rhino
Retired PR Developer
Posts: 47909
Joined: 2005-12-13 20:00

Re: Steps to making objects for BF2

Post by Rhino »

'[USF wrote:Doc.Pock;1793025']Didnt this "one person" already write a lightmapping tool for max 2010? Maybe the entire exporter could be slowly written together by multiple people? Or maybe its possible to just modofy the existing one to work with newer max versions?
the POE2 v0.30a tools do somewhat work when lightmapping in 2010, although there are a few bugs and you need to do the importing process of statics in 3DsMax9. Although yes, I did get him to fix up a few of the annoying bugs that I was having to work manually around (mainly that it saved all the rendered lightmaps in the same light group, no matter which one you set it to do) but that was a really quick fix of an already somewhat working script. Recoding the exporting and importing scripts however is a massive, massive task.
Image
Doc.Pock
Posts: 2899
Joined: 2010-08-23 14:53

Re: Steps to making objects for BF2

Post by Doc.Pock »

What about modifying? I dont know nothing about maxscript thou, so dunno if its an entirely diffrent language in max9 than in 2010, or what neither how the export tools even work, so tell me if my words are just shite here.
Rhino
Retired PR Developer
Posts: 47909
Joined: 2005-12-13 20:00

Re: Steps to making objects for BF2

Post by Rhino »

I'm talking about modifiying them to work with Max2010 :p

The same basic language is the same but a lot has changed that makes many scripts incompatible with different versions. The biggest change in the scripts happened in 3DsMax 2008, right after Max9.
Image
Psyko
Posts: 4466
Joined: 2008-01-03 13:34

Re: Steps to making objects for BF2

Post by Psyko »

Psyrus wrote:The export tools (getting it from MAX to BF2) don't work for versions after 3ds max 9.

If you're well versed in scripting for max, maybe you/someone could write an updated version for the latest max :)
nope. The source code isn't released, that's why the tools were never improved.
Psyrus
Retired PR Developer
Posts: 3841
Joined: 2006-06-19 17:10

Re: Steps to making objects for BF2

Post by Psyrus »

Psyko wrote:nope. The source code isn't released, that's why the tools were never improved.
To write an updated version of BF2 tools, you wouldn't necessarily have to use the current code - you could start afresh and it would still fit the aforementioned description. But fair enough.
Post Reply

Return to “PR:BF2 Community Modding”