That path is correct, providing the export scripts have "pr_edit" listed as one of the mods.Grober wrote:are those paths to textures in max are correct or they should beCode: Select all
C:\Program Files (x86)\EA GAMES\Battlefield 2\mods\pr_edit\objects\staticobjects\pr\textures\airbase\pas_torgan_c.dds
Code: Select all
\objects\staticobjects\pr\textures\airbase\pas_torgan_c.dds
Making an Airbase
-
- Retired PR Developer
- Posts: 47909
- Joined: 2005-12-13 20:00
Re: Making an Airbase
-
- Retired PR Developer
- Posts: 47909
- Joined: 2005-12-13 20:00
Re: Making an Airbase
Your current object is a "SimpleObject" and not a "Bundle". SimpleObjects can't have children attached to them where Bundles can, other than that, they are basically the same'[R-DEV wrote:Rhino;1789312']Another key difference I forgot to mention is that when naming your runway object, you need to add a suffix to the lod0 mesh of "__Bundle", so for example for my camp bastion runway mine is "camp_bastion_airbase_pt1__Bundle". Note you don't need to do this for the dirt bits, just the main runway object(s). Your hierarchy should look something like this, note that I have my main runway and helicopter runway as separate objects which is why there are two main runway parts and two dirt parts for Camp Bastion:
![Smile :)](./images/smilies/icon_e_smile.gif)
-
- Retired PR Developer
- Posts: 47909
- Joined: 2005-12-13 20:00
Re: Making an Airbase
What is your material setup like?
For your main airbase it should be like this:
![Image](http://i.imgur.com/XDZMXEc.jpg)
And for your dirt it should be like this (note the null_di.dds in the detail channel is important):
![Image](http://i.imgur.com/fSHkvL3.jpg)
Also for your naming I would advise you to name your airbase with the name of it first like I've got with the Camp Bastion runway to keep the format so I would name it either "torgan_airbase" or "torgan_heliport" or "torgan_runway" but don't think you should just call it a runway since its more than just that and heliport is probably best thing to describe it but having the name first will have it sorting better in the long run![Smile :)](./images/smilies/icon_e_smile.gif)
For your main airbase it should be like this:
![Image](http://i.imgur.com/XDZMXEc.jpg)
And for your dirt it should be like this (note the null_di.dds in the detail channel is important):
![Image](http://i.imgur.com/fSHkvL3.jpg)
Also for your naming I would advise you to name your airbase with the name of it first like I've got with the Camp Bastion runway to keep the format so I would name it either "torgan_airbase" or "torgan_heliport" or "torgan_runway" but don't think you should just call it a runway since its more than just that and heliport is probably best thing to describe it but having the name first will have it sorting better in the long run
![Smile :)](./images/smilies/icon_e_smile.gif)
-
- Retired PR Developer
- Posts: 47909
- Joined: 2005-12-13 20:00
Re: Making an Airbase
Getting there ![Very Happy :D](./images/smilies/icon_e_biggrin.gif)
But your runway lines are still short and stubby, I thought you addressed that ages ago?
I also don't think its appropriate to use the tyre skid marks on the runway for a heli runway, the wheels aren't hitting the ground that fast to make a skid![Razz :p](./images/smilies/imported_icon_razz.gif)
http://i.imgur.com/kfztLNe.jpg
If there are some tyre markings then wouldn't really be the same and you would need to stretch them out far more, the texture isn't designed to be used in 1:1 your meant to stretch it out, but ye, its meant for jets, not choppers but you could edit the ones there and replace them with ones more fitting for choppers and have your custom texture as part of your map, but I don't think you need tyre skids at all and can just paint some general ware though the colourmap as I did for the Camp Bastion heli runway![Smile :)](./images/smilies/icon_e_smile.gif)
http://realitymodfiles.com/rhino/promo/ ... ase_12.jpg
Your other dirt makings like the oil stains etc are all really small, mine where much larger on bastion, you might want to make them larger? Also some parts of your heli runway could use more dirt from the colour map as some parts which you would think would see some active are pretty much clean?
But ye other than that its coming along well![Smile :)](./images/smilies/icon_e_smile.gif)
EDIT:
Also repairing inside the hangers for choppers isn't really an option anymore. As I said before in this topic when commenting on your layout, you could only have choppers spawn/repair/reload in hangers IF the chopper wheel code is kept, and the choppers had wheels. That working wheel code from choppers has now been removed from PR due to too many players having problems with it, As such, if you have any hangers, they really need to just be for show.
![Very Happy :D](./images/smilies/icon_e_biggrin.gif)
But your runway lines are still short and stubby, I thought you addressed that ages ago?
I also don't think its appropriate to use the tyre skid marks on the runway for a heli runway, the wheels aren't hitting the ground that fast to make a skid
![Razz :p](./images/smilies/imported_icon_razz.gif)
http://i.imgur.com/kfztLNe.jpg
If there are some tyre markings then wouldn't really be the same and you would need to stretch them out far more, the texture isn't designed to be used in 1:1 your meant to stretch it out, but ye, its meant for jets, not choppers but you could edit the ones there and replace them with ones more fitting for choppers and have your custom texture as part of your map, but I don't think you need tyre skids at all and can just paint some general ware though the colourmap as I did for the Camp Bastion heli runway
![Smile :)](./images/smilies/icon_e_smile.gif)
http://realitymodfiles.com/rhino/promo/ ... ase_12.jpg
Your other dirt makings like the oil stains etc are all really small, mine where much larger on bastion, you might want to make them larger? Also some parts of your heli runway could use more dirt from the colour map as some parts which you would think would see some active are pretty much clean?
But ye other than that its coming along well
![Smile :)](./images/smilies/icon_e_smile.gif)
EDIT:
Standard reload and repair speeds in PR are the ones stated in the code above, for "slow locations", we don't do fast reload locations other than on test maps etc. You could try doing a slower repair and reload speeds than 1, but I'm not sure if it accepts decimal numbers but ye, chances are if you set the repair speed much lower than 1 then it might repair slower than the chopper is bleeding out.Grober wrote:ok so now i have a some question about this part
I woule like to make that on parking zone u are geting repaired but realy slowly and then inside hangars u would get real reparis and reload, what do u mean by this when u are on parking zone/air base u would not take dmg any more so u can land savly and then taxi to the hangar to get repairs.Code: Select all
rem ------------------------------------- ObjectTemplate.addTemplate *object name*_SupplyObject_*Type and True Radius* ObjectTemplate.setPosition *x/y/z* rem ------------------------------------- ObjectTemplate.create SupplyObject *object name*_SupplyObject_*Type and True Radius* ObjectTemplate.modifiedByUser "*Your Name*" ObjectTemplate.createdInEditor 1 ObjectTemplate.floaterMod 0 ObjectTemplate.hasMobilePhysics 0 ObjectTemplate.radius *~3/4 the "True Radius" your looking for in meters* ObjectTemplate.workOnSoldiers 0 ObjectTemplate.workOnVehicles 1 ObjectTemplate.healSpeed 1 ObjectTemplate.refillAmmoSpeed 2 ObjectTemplate.teamFromClosestCP 1 ObjectTemplate.addVehicleType *define number, 2 = Jets, 3 = Choppers, 5 = Jets & Choppers, 0 = Land, 1 = Sea and 4 = All*
So i have a few questions what is ObjectTemplate.healSpeed 1 so helis would not take dmg any more but only slighly repair
Also repairing inside the hangers for choppers isn't really an option anymore. As I said before in this topic when commenting on your layout, you could only have choppers spawn/repair/reload in hangers IF the chopper wheel code is kept, and the choppers had wheels. That working wheel code from choppers has now been removed from PR due to too many players having problems with it, As such, if you have any hangers, they really need to just be for show.
Last edited by Rhino on 2013-08-14 13:59, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Retired PR Developer
- Posts: 47909
- Joined: 2005-12-13 20:00
Re: Making an Airbase
https://www.realitymod.com/forum/f254-v ... ost1934621Grober wrote:RLY u are removing wheels...? thats so ****.... but i like wheels
have you got a ref to support it? I would recommend doing them realistically.Grober wrote:and i like my short lines! so stay away from them!
As for your new dirt on the colourmap, its too small and hard if you know what I mean by that. A really quick mock up but I mean something more like this:
![Image](http://i.imgur.com/y8dwGlQ.jpg)
-
- Retired PR Developer
- Posts: 47909
- Joined: 2005-12-13 20:00
Re: Making an Airbase
cool cheers, would have been easier if you had shown that to start with as all the heli runways I've seen have long lines like the ref I linked you too a few posts back but ye, this is pretty much the same kinda runway your making, if not the same. Is it the same airbase as your making btw as I saw taxiway and heading markings etc which you've missed out? Would be good to see some refs of the base your making w/e the case if you've got anyGrober wrote:Polish Air Assault Detachment over Afghanistan - full version - YouTube
about short lines
![Smile :)](./images/smilies/icon_e_smile.gif)
As for the colour ye that's more like it
![Smile :)](./images/smilies/icon_e_smile.gif)
BTW you should really edit your previous post if no one has posted after it rather than posting multiple posts in a row
![Smile :)](./images/smilies/icon_e_smile.gif)
-
- Retired PR Developer
- Posts: 47909
- Joined: 2005-12-13 20:00
Re: Making an Airbase
Your taxiway hold lines look tiny and some other bits look out of proportion too, would help to see some refs. I wouldn't weld anything up at this point, get all your makings down then weld them all up together.
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: 2014-08-27 17:44
Re: Making an Airbase
Hi i would like to ask you something. Camp Bastion will keep an eye on Armaholic ??
thx fo answer
thx fo answer