[Info] Running the Debugger in PR:BF2 v1.X

Making or wanting help making your own asset? Check in here
Post Reply
M42 Zwilling
Retired PR Developer
Posts: 613
Joined: 2012-06-10 11:27

[Info] Running the Debugger in PR:BF2 v1.X

Post by M42 Zwilling »

The BF2/PR debugger is extremely helpful in tracking down bugs that don't give error messages, but it does require a bit of knowledge on how to read the log messages.

Here's what you'll need to do to set it up:

1.Download Debugger files and menu files modified to work with the debugger (they are quite outdated compared to the release version but it doesn't really matter).
2.Extract Debugger files into your root Project Reality folder (i.e. C:\Program Files (x86)\Project Reality\Project Reality BF2\) and modified menu files into mods/pr_edit/content (do it AFTER you have completed step 4 from the editor setup tutorial).
3.Then run the normal PR launcher. Right-click on "PLAY", and click "Launch Debugger". Next you'll need to make a profile that will function properly in the debugger. Go to "Manage Profiles" and create a new offline profile.
4.Select it from the profiles list after creating it and hit "Convert Profile" to convert to a debugger profile.
5.Depending on what you want to do, you may want to go back to the Options menu through the launcher, select debugger profile in order to lower resolution and disable fullscreen. That's because fullscreen only produces logs while windowed mode also shows error windows for more important errors.
6.Go back to the debugger screen(right click PLAY and select "launch Debugger"), select your new profile, log in, and have fun debugging.

When you're running the debugger in windowed mode, you'll get error messages popping up all the time when loading. Generally, these are messages about texture coordinates, which can be ignored. Simply press Continue through them all.

Log messages are output to mods/pr/logs. You'll get 2 log messages, a BFLog and a Debug log. The Debug log is lots of stuff about what it's currently doing, and the BFLog is more similar to the standard error messages that pop up, and is more about errors rather than notifications.

Generally, any errors and crashes will be the last thing in the log, but not all the time. We have found that errors relating to collisionmeshes won't be the last error, and sometimes some other things. So, go back through the Debug log looking for "Error" or "Warning" messages (you'll notice things start with Debug, Warning, Error, Assert, etc), and see if it's anything about something you've just modified. That'll generally be the problem there :) Good luck and if something doesn't work out then come to the community modding forums and make a thread about your issue.


Updated for 1.7.1.1
Last edited by Suchar on 2022-07-02 23:55, edited 28 times in total.
Image


"How many posts have there been about how much better PR was back in 0.X? The fact is that if we played the older versions we would start to remember the shortcomings, but we tend to hold onto the good memories tighter than the bad ones." - Murphy
LangMaster
PR:BF2 Contributor
Posts: 176
Joined: 2020-10-11 03:15

Re: [Info] Running the Debugger in PR:BF2 v1.X

Post by LangMaster »

Hello there, i don't seem to be able to load any lrg 128 map only 64 and less.
upon selection to 128 lrg map it gives me std on loading.
User avatar
Mats391
PR:BF2 Lead Developer
Posts: 7636
Joined: 2010-08-06 18:06

Re: [Info] Running the Debugger in PR:BF2 v1.X

Post by Mats391 »

Yes the debugger only supports the default bf2 layers. It also only support 64 players and 6 men squads. We will probably not change this as its too much work and we do not need it ourselves.
Image

Mineral: TIL that Wire-guided missiles actually use wire
Talon-OneOne
Posts: 16
Joined: 2020-10-25 01:29

Re: [Info] Running the Debugger in PR:BF2 v1.X

Post by Talon-OneOne »

if I extract to \Program Files (x86)\Project Reality\Project Reality BF2\ it asks if I want to replace files... Is this ok? or do I skip?
User avatar
Suchar
PR:BF2 Lead Developer
Posts: 2174
Joined: 2016-10-12 13:25
Location: Poland

Re: [Info] Running the Debugger in PR:BF2 v1.X

Post by Suchar »

Thread cleaned and updated for v1.7.1.1 with additional information and a menu fix to make the debugger usable again.
Image
Post Reply

Return to “PR:BF2 Community Modding”